Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Cross Country NCAA Championships Race Today at 12:58 PM

Nov. 21, 2011

Watch live online at
Complete Villanova Preview

TERRE HAUTE, Ind.--Villanova makes its fourth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Cross Country Championships today when the women's race goes off at 12:58 p.m. at LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course.

Villanova tied for first place at the NCAA Mid-Atlantic Regional last Saturday to gain at least a share of the regional title for the third consecutive season. Led by individual champion Sheila Reid (Newmarket, Ont.) and third place finisher Bogdana Mimic (Pancevo, Serbia) the Wildcats finished with a team score of 57 points to tie Georgetown at the top of the standings.

Head coach Gina Procaccio and senior Sheila Reid (Newmarket, Ont.) repeated as the Coach of the Year and the Athlete of the Year, respectively, in the Mid-Atlantic Region. Awards were announced on Wednesday by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, based on voting by Division I coaches.

Seniors Sheila Reid (Newmarket, Ont.) and Bogdana Mimic (Pancevo, Serbia), as well as sophomores Nicky Akande (Lawrenceville, Ga.) and Emily Lipari (Greenvale, N.Y.) each received All-Mid Atlantic Region accolades for finishing in the top 25 at the Mid-Atlantic Regional last weekend. Reid was the individual champion for the third consecutive season, while Mimic finished third, Akande came in 10th and Lipari was 16th overall.

Villanova has won each of the last two national championships and the team's nine national titles all-time are the most of any program in women's cross country. The Wildcats won six consecutive titles from 1989-94 and also won the 1998 national title.



Last year Sheila Reid (Newmarket, Ont.) became the eighth individual champion from Villanova and the first from the program to win since 1997. No other program has had more than three individual national champions. Reid has won seven consecutive races since last year and 11 of her last 13 starts since the start of the 2009 season.