Skip to main content Skip to footer
Sheila Reid Named "Top Three" Finalist for 2011 Honda-Broderick Cup
Sheila Reid was previously named the winner of the Honda Sports Award for both cross country and track & field this season.

June 22, 2011

Official Release from The Collegiate Women Sports Awards

NEW YORK--The Collegiate Women's Sports Awards today announced the "Top Three" finalists for the prestigious Honda-Broderick Cup, its annual top honor designating The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. Villanova senior Sheila Reid (Newmarket, Ont.) is one of the three finalists named, along with volleyball player Blair Brown (Penn State) and women's basketball player Maya Moore (Connecticut).

The winner of the 2011 Honda-Broderick Cup will be revealed at a special press conference on June 27 at Columbia University in New York. The "Top Three" finalists were chosen from previously announced Honda Sports Award winners in 12 different NCAA-sanctioned sports, by a vote from among more than 1,000 NCAA-member institutions.

Reid was previously named the Honda Sports Award winner in both cross country and track & field. She has had an incredible year which includes four national championships, five All-America honors and six BIG EAST titles. Reid was the individual national champion in cross country and led Villanova to its second straight team title in the fall, along the way becoming a repeat winner at both the BIG EAST Championships and the NCAA Mid-Atlantic Regional.

During the indoor track season she anchored the Wildcats to a national championship in the distance medley relay and received individual All-America honors for a runner-up finish in the 3000 meters. She was a triple champion at the BIG EAST meet indoors in the 1000 meters, 4x800 meter relay and distance medley relay. Her performance at the conference championships included setting a meet record in the 1000 meters.

In the outdoor track season that just ended Reid became the first woman in history to win both the 1500 meters and the 5000 meters in the same year at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships. She also won both events at the BIG EAST Championships and was chosen as the National Athlete of the Year by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).



Outside of competition Reid has also excelled academically and holds a 3.408 grade-point average as an English major. She compiled a perfect 4.0 GPA during the fall 2010 semester when she won the cross country national championship and was the USTFCCCA National Scholar-Athlete of the Year. In addition, Reid was named the cross country Academic All-Area Performer of the Year by the Philadelphia Inquirer and was chosen as a first team Capital One Academic All-District selection.

The other eight individual Honda Sports Award winners who were nominated to become "Top Three" finalists this year include: Kelsey Bruder of the University of Florida (softball), Melissa Henderson from Notre Dame (soccer), Kayla Hoffman from the University of Alabama (gymnastics), Katinka Hosszu from the University of Southern California (swimming & diving), Jana Juricova of the University of California, Berkeley (tennis), Katie O'Donnell from the University of Maryland (field hockey), Shannon Smith of Northwestern University (lacrosse) and Marta Silva Zamora from the University of Georgia (golf).

In addition to the annual Honda-Broderick Cup, the Collegiate Women's Sports Awards Program also presents its annual Honda Inspiration Award to a female college athlete who has overcome adversity to excel in her sport. The program also honors the Honda Sports Award Athletes of the Year from both NCAA Division II and Division III colleges.

The June 27 awards ceremony in New York will be hosted by ESPN SportsCenter co-host Sage Steele, who will be joined to help present The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year award by 2000 Honda-Broderick Cup winner Cristina Teuscher, a former Columbia University swimmer and Olympic gold medalist.

Past winners of the Honda-Broderick Cup include some of the most talented and accomplished collegiate athletes in recent history: Candace Parker (basketball, 2008); Jackie Joyner Kersee (track & field, 1984); Mia Hamm (soccer, 1994); Cheryl Miller (basketball, 1983); Tracy Caulkins (swimming, 1982 and 1984); Chamique Holdsclaw (basketball, 1998); Misty May (volleyball, 1999); and Lisa Fernandez (softball, 1993).

For more information about The Collegiate Women Sports Awards, please visit

This year's award represents American Honda Motor Company's 25th anniversary in support of The Collegiate Women Sports Awards program. Honda has donated over $2.3 million in institutional grants to the winners' and nominees' universities over the course of the program.