Skip to main content Skip to footer
Three Wildcats Earn Philadelphia Big 5 Honors
Alex Louin
April 11, 2017

PHILADELPHIA, PA. -- The Philadelphia Big 5 today announced the 2016-17 women's basketball major award winners and All-Conference honorees. Villanova junior guard Alex Louin (Doylestown, Pa.) has been named to the All-Big 5 first team, while sophomore guard Adrianna Hahn (Wilmington, Del.) garnered second team recognition. Freshman guard Kelly Jekot (Enola, Pa.) was named the Big 5 Rookie of the Year.

Louin led the Wildcats this year in scoring (13.1 ppg.), assists (110) and minutes played (34.8 mpg.), tied for the team lead in both steals (38) and blocks (31), and was second in rebounding at 5.5 rpg. In the second round WNIT win over Drexel, Louin became the 26th player in Villanova women’s basketball history to score 1,000 career points. She finished the season with 1,057 points which ranks 22nd on Villanova’s all-time scoring chart. Louin tallied double figures in 25 of the team’s 35 games this past season.

Hahn started 33 of 35 games and ranked second on the team in scoring at 12.6 points per game. She led the Wildcats in three-point shooting by connecting on 93-of-226 for 41.1 percent. She also tallied 70 assists (2nd on team) and 38 steals (tied for team lead). Hahn reached double figures in points 18 times in 2016-17, including eight contests of 20 points or more and two games of 30 points or more. Her best effort of the season came against Xavier on Feb. 17 when she scored a career-high 33 points.       



Jekot played in all 35 games of her rookie campaign and averaged 6.1 points per game and 3.5 rebounds per contest in 22.1 minutes per game. She also recorded 50 assists, 12 steals and 10 blocks.  She scored a career-high 17 points versus Seton Hall on Jan. 13 and made a career-best four three-point field goals in the game.

The annual Big 5 banquet is set for Monday, April 17, at The Palestra. Along with the current season men’s and women’s award winners, the 2017 Big Five Hall of Fame class will be inducted. This year’s class includes Carlene Hightower (La Salle), Ibrahim Jaaber (Penn), Jameer Nelson (Saint Joseph’s), Lynn Greer (Temple), Randy Foye (Villanova), George Raveling (Villanova) and longtime Philadelphia Inquirer sportswriter Bill Lyon.