Skip to main content Skip to footer
Trio of Wildcats Competed at ITA Atlantic Regional
Thomas O'Brien tied for the team lead with eight wins in singles play this fall.

Oct. 23, 2012

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. - Three members of the Villanova men's tennis team competed last weekend in the ITA Atlantic Regional Championship, which was hosted at the Sheridan Snyder Tennis Center at the University of Virginia. Junior Thomas O'Brien (Branford, Conn.) and freshman Chris Seitz (Pennington, N.J.) were each automatic qualifiers for the main singles draw in the tournament, while sophomore Tim Abbracciamento (Robbinsville, N.J.) competing in the qualifying rounds.

O'Brien faced Ulrik Thomsen from George Washington in the Round of 128 of singles play and was defeated in straight sets by scores of 6-3 and 6-4. Seitz squared off against Sebastian Fauchet of Richmond and was defeated 6-3, 6-3.

In the qualifying rounds Abbracciamento opened up with a 6-3, 6-2 win over Eric Ward of Morgan State to advance to the second round. He then faced Tommy Gates of Saint Joseph's, with the winner earning a qualifying spot in the main draw. Gates came away with a close 6-4, 7-6 win over Abbracciamento in their second round match.

O'Brien and Seitz also played in the Round of 64 in the main doubles draw, where they lost an 8-2 decision to the VCU tandem of Max Wennakoski and Claes Goransson.

Last weekend's tournament wraps up a terrific fall season for Villanova, which produced a combined singles record of 71-36 in five tournaments. The spring season for the Wildcats begins with a match at Navy on February 2.

ITA Atlantic Regional Championship
Hosted by University of Virginia

First Round: Tim Abbracciamento (Villanova) defeated Eric Ward (Morgan State) 6-3, 6-2
Second Round: Tommy Gates (Saint Joseph's) defeated Tim Abbracciamento (Villanova) 6-4, 7-6



Round of 128: Ulrik Thomsen (George Washington) defeated Thomas O'Brien (Villanova) 6-3, 6-4
Round of 128: Sebastian Fauchet (Richmond) defeated Chris Seitz (Villanova) 6-3, 6-3

Round of 64: Max Wennakoski/Claes Goransson (VCU) defeated Thomas O'Brien/Chris Seitz (Villanova), 8-2