Skip to main content Skip to footer
LoCascio Repeats as BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year
Senior John LoCascio

April 29, 2014

NEW YORK, N.Y. - The BIG EAST Conference announced its men's lacrosse major award winners and all-conference teams on Tuesday, April 29th prior to the start of the BIG EAST Championship.

Villanova's John LoCascio (Fairfield, N.J.) repeated as the BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year for the second-straight season and was joined on the first team by fellow classmate and defenseman Christopher Conroy (Chatham, N.J.). It marks the second-straight year both LoCascio and Conroy have earned First Team All-BIG EAST Honors while LoCascio also repeated as a unanimous All-BIG EAST First Team selection.

Senior defenseman Chris Piccirilli (Davidsonville, Md.), sophomore midfielder Jack Curran (Fair Haven, N.J.) and freshman goalkeeper Dan Willis (Moorestown, N.J.) were named to the 2014 All-BIG EAST Second Team. It marks the first postseason conference honors for all three.

John LoCascio, Sr., LSM (Fairfield, N.J./West Essex Regional) earns his second-straight BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year accolade after earning the distinction for the 2013 season. He was the 2014 BIG EAST Preseason Defensive Player of the Year prior to the start of the season and is also a three-time All-BIG EAST selection, earning unanimous First Team honors in 2013 and 2014 and Second Team honors in 2012. For the season, LoCascio is second on the team with 68 ground balls and leads the Wildcats with 32 caused turnovers. He's also contributed four goals and 13 assists for 17 points. Additionally, LoCascio is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and is a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee.



Christopher Conroy, Sr., D (Chatham, N.J./Chatham) also earns his second straight All-BIG EAST First Team selection with Tuesday's announcement. A 2014 Preseason All-BIG EAST First Team selection and a three-year starter on defense, Conroy has tallied 19 ground balls and 22 caused turnovers in 2014 and is regarded as one of the best coverage defensemen in the country. For his career, Conroy has collected 55 ground balls and caused 51 turnovers.

Chris Piccirilli, Sr., D (Davidsonville, Md./Archbishop Spalding) makes his first appearance on the All-BIG EAST Second Team. The senior defenseman was a 2014 Preseason All-BIG EAST First Team selection and is a two-year starter on close defense for the Wildcats. In 2014 he's collected 27 ground balls and caused 15 turnovers while adding in an additional five goals and one assist for six points. For his career, Piccirilli has totaled 80 ground balls, 38 caused turnovers, 12 goals and three assists for 15 points.

Jack Curran, So., M (Fair Haven, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) earns the first postseason accolade of his career with being named to the 2014 All-BIG EAST Second Team. After missing the majority of his freshman season due to injury, Curran has appeared in all but one contest during his sophomore season and tallied 16 goals and 16 assists for 32 points. He's also grabbed 16 ground balls and caused four turnovers in 2014 and is second on the team in total points and first on the team in assists.

Dan Willis, Fr., GK (Moorestown, N.J./Moorestown) also earns the first postseason honor of his career after making an immediate impact during his freshman season. Willis started all 14 games in goal for the Wildcats in 2014 and played 809 minutes in net. He's tallied a 9.93 goals against average and posted a .490 save percentage during his freshman season while also making 129 saves on the year.

St. John's Kieran McArdle was selected as the BIG EAST Attack Player of the Year for the second straight year, Denver's Jeremy Noble and Ryan LaPlante were chosen as the BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year and BIG EAST Goalkeeper of the Year, respectively, and Marquette's Joe Amplo was picked as the Coach of the Year. Voting was conducted among the league's seven head coaches who were not permitted to vote for their own players.

The All-BIG EAST First Team is made up of six players from Denver and two each from Georgetown, Marquette and Villanova. St. John's had one member represented on the First Team. Berg, McArdle, Noble, Grill, LoCascio and Knarr were all unanimous selections.

All-BIG EAST Team and Major Awards in Men's Lacrosse

Attack Player of the Year
Kieran McArdle, St. John's, Sr.

Midfielder of the Year
Jeremy Noble, Denver, Sr. (&)

Defensive Player of the Year
John LoCascio, Villanova, Sr., LSM

Goalkeeper of the Year
Ryan LaPlante, Denver, Jr.

Coach of the Year
Joe Amplo, Marquette

First Team All-BIG EAST
Wes Berg, Denver, Jr., A ^
Tyler Melnyk, Marquette, R-Sr., A
Kieran McArdle, St. John's, Sr., A ^
Erik Adamson, Denver, Jr., M
Jeremy Noble, Denver, Sr., M ^
Peter Conley, Georgetown, Fr., M
Christian Burgdorf, Denver, Fr., D
B.J. Grill, Marquette, R-So., D ^
Christopher Conroy, Villanova, Sr., D
John LoCascio, Villanova, Sr., LSM ^
Tyler Knarr, Georgetown, Gr., FOS ^
Jamie Faus, Denver, Sr., GK (at-large selection)
Ryan LaPlante, Denver, Jr., GK

Second Team All-BIG EAST %
Jack Bobzien, Denver, So., A
Scott Bieda, Rutgers, So., A
Kevin Cernuto, St. John's, Sr., A
Kyle Whitlow, Marquette, R-So., M
Anthony Terranova, Rutgers, R-Sr., M
Ryan Fitzgerald, St. John's, Sr., M
Jack Curran, Villanova, So., M
Nick Contino, Rutgers, Sr., D
Mark DiFrangia, St. John's, Jr., D
Chris Piccirilli, Villanova, Sr., D
Liam Byrnes, Marquette, R-So., LSM
Joe Nardella, Rutgers, Jr., FOS
Dan Willis, Villanova, Fr., GK

& - unanimous selection for Midfielder of the Year
^ - unanimous first-team selection
% - second team included four midfielders because of a tie in the voting