Skip to main content Skip to footer
LoCascio Named Tewaaraton Trophy Nominee
Senior John LoCascio

April 25, 2014

Full Release

BALTIMORE, Md. - The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Twenty-eight men were selected as nominees, from which the 14th annual Tewaaraton Award finalists will be selected and honored May 29, 2014, in Washington, D.C.

The men's award nominees include players from 18 schools as well as representatives from 14 of the top 20 teams in the April 21 USILA Coaches Poll. Eight schools had two or more players nominated, with Duke and Loyola each receiving three.

Regarded as one of the best long-stick midfielders in the nation, LoCascio has had an outstanding senior season and currently posts 63 ground balls and 30 caused turnovers while adding in an additional four goals and 12 assists for 16 points. He currently ranks 5th in the NCAA averaging 2.33 caused turnovers per game and is also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.

Additionally, LoCascio was the 2014 BIG EAST Preseason Defensive Player of the year and the 2013 BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year, a 2013 unanimous All-BIG EAST First Team selection and a 2013 USILA Third Team All-American. For his career, he's captured 227 ground balls and caused 117 turnovers, good for second all-time in Villanova history.

Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced May 8 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men's and women's watch lists were announced Feb. 27, with additions made March 20 and April 10, and were ultimately comprised of 66 men's players and 58 women's players. The selection committees are comprised of 11 men's and 11 women's current and former coaches.

Men's nominees:
Niko Amato, Maryland - Sr., G
Wesley Berg, Denver - Jr., A
Connor Buczek, Cornell - Jr., M
Mike Chanenchuk, Maryland - Sr., M
Deemer Class, Duke - Soph., M
Mark Cockerton, Virginia - Sr., A
Joe Fletcher, Loyola - Sr., D
John Glesener, Army - Jr., A
Myles Jones, Duke - Soph., M
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Soph., A
Jesse King, Ohio State - Jr., M
John LoCascio, Villanova - Sr., LSM/D
Kevin Massa, Bryant - Jr., F/O
Kieran McArdle, St. John's - Sr., A
Ben McIntosh, Drexel - Sr., M
Scott McWilliams, Virginia - Sr., D
Jeremy Noble, Denver - Sr., M
Nikko Pontrello, Loyola - Jr., A
Kevin Rice, Syracuse - Jr., A
Joey Sankey, North Carolina - Jr., A
Tom Schreiber, Princeton - Sr., M
Randy Staats, Syracuse - Jr., A/M
Wells Stanwick, Hopkins - Jr., A
Lyle Thompson, Albany - Jr., A
Miles Thompson, Albany - Sr., A
Gunnar Waldt, Bryant - Soph., G
Justin Ward, Loyola - Sr., A
Jordan Wolf, Duke - Sr., A