Skip to main content Skip to footer
LoCascio Named 2014 Senior CLASS Award Finalist
Senior John LoCascio

April 2, 2014

Vote for LoCascio for the Senior Class Award Here!

OVERLAND PARK, Kas. - Villanova men's lacrosse senior captain John LoCascio (Fairfield, N.J.) has been named one of 10 lacrosse student-athletes as a finalist for the 2014 Senior Class Award, as announced by the organization on Wednesday afternoon. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

Voting is now open to the public and accounts for 1/3 of the total ballot with the remaining 2/3 determined by NCAA Division I coaches and national media members. Voting will end May 12th.

Regarded as one of the best long-stick midfielders in the nation, LoCascio has had an outstanding start to his senior season and currently leads the team with 50 ground balls and 22 caused turnovers. He currently ranks 6th in the NCAA averaging 2.44 caused turnovers per game.

Additionally, LoCascio was the 2013 BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year, a unanimous All-BIG EAST First Team selection and a USILA Third Team All-American. LoCascio registered 85 ground balls and had 53 caused turnovers last season, finishing as the national leader with an average of 3.57 caused turnovers per game. He was also selected by the Rochester Rattlers as the 26th overall selection in the 2014 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft.

Off the field, LoCascio maintains a 3.67 GPA in Finance with a minor in Economics from the prestigious Villanova School of Business. He has been a Dean's List honoree six out of the seven semesters during his time on campus and his academic accomplishments include being chosen as the 2013 Philadelphia Inquirer Men's Lacrosse Academic All-Area Performer of the Year, being named to the 2012 Philadelphia Inquirer Men's Lacrosse Academic All-Area Team and a three-time BIG EAST Academic All-Star (2010, 2011, 2012) selection.



An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 20 candidates announced in February. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior Class Award website through May 12. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Lacrosse Championships in Baltimore May 24-26. For more information on all the finalists, visit

Lacrosse Senior CLASS Award Finalists
Troy Dennis, Detroit
Joe Meurer, Ohio State
Michael Ehrhardt, Maryland
Stephen O'Hara, Notre Dame
Rob Emery, Virginia
Tom Schreiber, Princeton
Joe Fletcher, Loyola (Maryland)
Ty Souders, Lehigh
John LoCascio, Villanova
Justin Ward, Loyola (Maryland)