Skip to main content Skip to footer
LoCascio One of Twenty Candidates for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award
Senior John LoCascio

Feb. 20, 2014

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. - Senior John LoCascio (Fairfield, N.J.)) has been selected to a list of twenty candidates to be chosen for the 2014 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award in lacrosse.

Twenty NCAA® lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates for the Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate men's lacrosse. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Regarded as one of the best long-stick midfielders in the nation, LoCascio was the 2013 BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year, a unanimous All-BIG EAST First Team selection and a USILA Third Team All-American. LoCascio registered 85 ground balls and had 53 caused turnovers last season, finishing as the national leader with an average of 3.57 caused turnovers per game. He was also selected by the Rochester Rattlers as the 26th overall selection in the 2014 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft.

Off the field, LoCascio maintains a 3.67 GPA in Finance with a minor in Economics from the prestigious Villanova School of Business. He has been a Dean's List honoree six out of the seven semesters during his time on campus and his academic accomplishments include being chosen as the 2013 Philadelphia Inquirer Men's Lacrosse Academic All-Area Performer of the Year, being named to the 2012 Philadelphia Inquirer Men's Lacrosse Academic All-Area Team and a three-time BIG EAST Academic All-Star (2010, 2011, 2012) selection.

The 2014 candidate class includes five student-athletes who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher, and six were members of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-America team in 2013.



The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Lacrosse Championships in Baltimore May 24-26.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

Lacrosse Candidates
Colin Clive, Siena
Austin Kaut, Penn State
Ryan Creighton, North Carolina
John LoCascio, Villanova
Peter DeLuca, Jacksonville
Derek Maltz, Syracuse
Thomas DeNapoli, Towson
Sean Meagher, Robert Morris
Troy Dennis, Detroit Mercy
Joe Meurer, Ohio State
Michael Ehrhardt, Maryland
Stephen O'Hara, Notre Dame
Rob Emery, Virginia
Tom Schreiber, Princeton
Joe Fletcher, Loyola (Maryland)
Ty Souders, Lehigh
Brendan Fowler, Duke
Miles Thompson, Albany
Todd Heritage, Bucknell
Justin Ward, Loyola (Maryland)