Skip to main content Skip to footer
Three Men's Lacrosse Games to Air Nationally on ESPN
Villanova will appear in three nationally televised games for 2013 season

Jan. 10, 2013

2013 Men's Lacrosse Schedule

VILLANOVA, Pa. - The Villanova men's lacrosse team will appear on national television three times this season on the ESPN family of networks when the Wildcats face Penn, Georgetown and Notre Dame for the upcoming 2013 season.

The Wildcats kick off their televised slate in the inaugural Whitman's Sampler Independence Classic at PPL Park vs. Penn on March 9th at 2:30 p.m. on ESPN3. ESPNU will carry both the April 3rd contest at Georgetown and the April 20th match at Notre Dame for a pair of BIG EAST conference games, scheduled for 5 p.m. and 2 p.m. ET, respectively.

Additionally, ESPN has also agreed to carry the entire BIG EAST Men's Lacrosse Championship, which will take place from Thursday, May 2 to Saturday, May 4, hosted by Villanova University. ESPNU will air Thursday's first semifinal and Saturday's tournament championship game live. Thursday's second semifinal will be carried live on ESPN3 and shown via tape-delay on ESPNU.

This season, the network's telecasts will include a deep roster of experienced and knowledgeable lacrosse analysts: Ryan Boyle (Four-time All-American at Princeton), Paul Carcaterra (All-American at Syracuse and a member of 1995 National Championship team), Mark Dixon (former Johns Hopkins midfielder), Ryan Flanagan (All-American defenseman at UNC), Quint Kessenich (Four-time All-American at Johns Hopkins), Jamie Munro (All-American at Brown and former Denver head coach) and Matt Ward (former Virginia attackman and 2006 Tewaaraton winner). Play-by-play announcers include: ESPNU's Anish Shroff, Joe Beninati (Bowdoin College goalie), Mike Corey and Eamon McAnaney (Notre Dame defenseman). Courtney Martinez-Connor (Four-time NCAA Championship at Maryland) will handle analysis of the women's games.

The Wildcats open their 2013 season on Saturday, Feb. 16th when they host the Lehigh Mountain Hawks at 1 p.m. in Villanova Stadium.