Skip to main content Skip to footer
Colbert, Kania, Skurla Named to Division I PING All-Region Team
Brian Colbert, Michael Kania and Steve Skurla recognized for extraordinary individual seasons

May 31, 2012

SANTA MONICA, Calif. - Villanova's Brian Colbert (Cary, Ill.), Michael Kania (Haverford, Pa.) and Steve Skurla (Wheaton, Ill.) have been selected to the PING All-Region Team as announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America on Wednesday.

The trio led the team early on in the season as each player finished inside the top-30 in all three September tournaments. This solid individual production was sustained throughout the entire season. Colbert, Kania and Skurla were the top three scorers for the Wildcats in the 2011-12 campaign.

Senior Brian Colbert continued his outstanding play this year after a breakout junior season when he averaged a team-best 73.00 strokes, posted five top-ten finishes and two top-twenty finishes. The junior was named the BIG EAST Golfer of the Week for March 9th and collected All-BIG EAST Team accolades to finish off his tremendous season in 2010-11.

On the 2011-12 slate, Colbert registered a team-leading four top-20 finishes and earned two top-10 spots. He was second on the team in terms of scoring this season after concluding his junior year as the highest scorer in the conference. His best round total (72-74-72--218; +2) came against competition in the Adam's Cup of Newport in Newport, R.I., while his greatest finish was grasped in the Wildcat Invitational (t-6th).

Rising senior Michael Kania had an exceptional season in 2011-12. The standout candidate for the Wildcats this year was a unanimous selection for the All-BIG EAST squad after tallying three top-10 performances and three finishes in the top-20s. He also led the team in scoring with a 73.36 per round average on the season.



The junior executed down the stretch at BIG EAST Championships and finished in a tie for third-place with a 70-70-72--212;-4. Kania's season was undoubtedly highlighted by his first career individual championship at the Pinehurst Intercollegiate. He claimed the win by six strokes over the next best finisher and helped lead the Wildcats to a fifth-place showing out of the 12 teams total with a 302-290-290--882; +30.

Steve Skurla ended his successful junior stint with the third best scoring average on the team. He snagged two finishes in the top-20s to compliment three top-10s. The Wheaton, Illinois product notched third-place in the 78-player field in the Wildcat Invitational, eighth-place at the Adam's Cup and ninth-place at the Navy Spring Invitational. He was the top finisher for the Wildcats in the opening event on the 2011-12 season with a 76-68-68--212; +2 at the McLaughlin Red Course at Bethpage State Park, which put him in a tie for 18th overall.

A total of 155 players across six regions - Northeast, East, Southeast, Midwest, Central and West - earned all-region honors for 2012.

Division I PING All-Region Teams

Northeast: Sam Bernstein, Yale; Jeb Buchanan, Connecticut; Branden Chicorka, Rhode Island; Brian Colbert, Villanova; Mark Costanza, St. John's; Anthony DeGol, Penn State; Brian Dorfman, Georgetown; Bryce Edmister, Binghamton; Tony Grillo, Harvard; Michael Kania, Villanova; Max Marsico, Penn; Ryan McCormick, St. John's; Tommy McDonagh, Penn State; Jay Mulieri, Loyola; Brandon Park, Seton Hall; James Pleat, Dartmouth; Andres Pumariega, George Washington; Carter Rufe, Lafayette; Josh Salah, Sacred Heart; Steve Skurla, Villanova; Matt Smith, Hartford; Troy Spencer, Seton Hall; Peter Williamson, Dartmouth; Pat Wilson, St. John's; Michael Yiu, Columbia

East: Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech; Spencer Anderson, Duke; Bo Andrews, Georgia Tech; Lee Bedford, Wake Forest; Albin Choi, NC State; Austin Cody, Duke; Trevor Cone, Virginia Tech; McCuen Elmore, Clemson; Steven Fox, Chattanooga; Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga; Robert Karlsson, Liberty; Billy Kennerly, Clemson; Ben Kohles, Virginia; Denny McCarthy, Virginia; Corbin Mills, Clemson; Brinson Paolini, Duke; Crawford Reeves, Clemson; Ben Rusch, Virginia; Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech; Sebastian Soderberg, Coastal Carolina; Adam Stephenson, East Carolina; Julian Suri, Duke; Harold Varner, East Carolina; Richy Werenski, Georgia Tech; James White, Georgia Tech

Southeast: Kevin Aylwin, North Florida; Blayne Barber, Auburn; Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn; Niclas Carlsson, Auburn; Sean Dale, North Florida; Joe David, Mississippi; Jonathan Fly, Memphis; Ricardo Gouveia, UCF; Hunter Green, Middle Tennessee; Vaita Guillaume, Campbell; Hunter Hamrick, Alabama; Michael Johnson, Auburn; Jose Joia, UCF; Brooks Koepka, Florida State; Tyler McCumber, Florida; Will McCurdy, Auburn; Matt Nagy, Kennesaw State; Kevin Phelan, North Florida; Garrick Porteous, Tennessee; Andrew Presley, LSU; Nick Reach, Georgia; Brad Schnieder, UCF; Justin Thomas, Alabama; T.J. Vogel, Florida; Cory Whitsett, Alabama; Bobby Wyatt, Alabama; Sang Yi, LSU

Midwest: Chris Brant, Iowa; Charlie Bull, Akron; Eric Chun, Northwestern; Corey Conners, Kent State; Justin Dorward, Louisville; Tyler Duncan, Purdue; Dan Ellis, Michigan State; Luke Guthrie, Illinois; Mackenzie Hughes, Kent State; Steven Ihm, Iowa; Mason Jacobs, Illinois; Barrett Kelpin, Iowa; Sebastian MacLean, Xavier; Tyler Merkel, Ball State; Kevin Miller, Kent State; David Mills, Indiana; Taylor Pendrith, Kent State; Jack Perry, Northwestern; Thomas Pieters, Illinois; Alex Redfield, Ohio State; Max Scodro, Notre Dame; Matt Thompson, Michigan; Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota; Ian Vandersee, Iowa; Chase Wright, Indiana

Central: Abraham Ancer, Oklahoma; Rafael Becker, Wichita State; Julien Brun, TCU; Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas; MJ Daffue, Lamar; Johan de Beer, TCU; Tyler Dunlap, Texas A&M; Dylan Frittelli, Texas; Talor Gooch, Oklahoma State; Toni Hakula, Texas; Jace Long, Missouri; Nate McCoy, Iowa State; Joaquim Mikkelsen, Baylor; Carlos Ortiz, North Texas; Cameron Peck, Texas A&M; Riley Pumphrey, Oklahoma; Jordan Russell, Texas A&M; Matt Schovee, SMU; Geoff Shaw, Texas A&M; Clement Sordet, Texas Tech; Jordan Spieth, Texas; Ethan Tracy, Arkansas; Johannes Veerman, Texas A&M; Julio Vegas, Texas; Philipp Westermann, Southeast Louisiana

West: John Anderson, Pepperdine; Anton Arboleda, UCLA; Blake Biddle, UNLV; Zac Blair, BYU; Patrick Cantlay, UCLA; John Catlin, New Mexico; Alex Ching, San Diego; Mario Clemens, UCLA; James Erkenbeck, New Mexico; Derek Ernst, UNLV; Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA; Brandon Hagy, California; Max Homa, California; Jeffrey Kang, Southern California; Alex Kim, UCLA; Michael Kim, California; Steve Lim, Southern California; Daniel Miernicki, Oregon; Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington; Kevin Penner, UNLV; Patrick Rodgers, Stanford; Justin Shin, New Mexico State; Sam Smith, Southern California; J.J. Spaun, San Diego State; Chris Williams, Washington; Cameron Wilson, Stanford; Eugene Wong, Oregon; Andrew Yun, Stanford