Skip to main content Skip to footer
Andy Talley is 2009 AFCA Region 1 Coach of the Year Winner

Dec. 2, 2009

WACO, Texas - Villanova football head coach Andy Talley has been named the Region 1 Football Championship Subdivision Regional Coach of the Year, as announced by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA). Talley was also a 2008 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year winner; the 2009 award is his fifth given by the AFCA.

Talley has led the Villanova Wildcats to an 11-1 overall record in 2009 en route to earning the automatic bid to the playoffs from the Colonial Athletic Association. This past Saturday, the No. 2 seeded Villanova Wildcats defeated the Holy Cross Crusaders, 38-28, in the first round of the NCAA Division I Football Championship playoff. Talley was also honored by the CAA by being named the 2009 Football Coach of the Year in the conference and he has also been chosen as one of 20 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award, given to the national coach of the year in the FCS. His all time record stands at 204-120-2 (.630) as he continues on his 30th season coaching.

The AFCA awards five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by active members of the association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The AFCA began recognizing district coaches of the year following the 1960 season. The 2009 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2010 AFCA Convention in Orlando, Fla. The dinner is scheduled for January 12.

2009 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners:

Football Bowl Subdivision Region 1: Brian Kelly, University of Cincinnati* Region 2: Nick Saban, University of Alabama Region 3: Kirk Ferentz, University of Iowa Region 4: Mack Brown, University of Texas Region 5: Gary Patterson, TCU

Football Championship Subdivision Region 1: Andy Talley, Villanova University* Region 2: Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University* Region 3: Henry Frazier, Prairie View A&M University* Region 4: Dale Lennon, Southern Illinois University* Region 5: Bobby Hauck, University of Montana



Division II Region 1: Rocky Rees, Shippensburg University Region 2: Steve Mullins, Arkansas Tech University Region 3: Keith Otterbein, Hillsdale College Region 4: Sam McElroy, Tarleton State University Region 5: Blaine Bennett, Central Washington University

Division III Region 1: E.J. Mills, Amherst College Region 2: Joe Fincham, Wittenberg University Region 3: Norman Joseph, Mississippi College Region 4: Larry Kehres, Mount Union College* & Norm Eash, Illinois Wesleyan University (tie) Region 5: Steve Staker, Coe College

NAIA Region 1: Hugh Freeze, Lambuth University Region 2: Mike Feminis, St. Xavier University & Ron Korfmacher, Taylor University (tie) Region 3: Kent Kessinger, Ottawa University Region 4: Kalen DeBoer, University of Sioux Falls Region 5: Mike Van Diest, Carroll College (Mont.)*

*-2008 winner