17 National Television Appearances Highlight 2012-13 Slate
Senior Mouphtaou Yarou and the Wildcats will make 17 national television appearances in 2012-13

 
Senior Mouphtaou Yarou and the Wildcats will make 17 national television appearances in 2012-13
 
VILLANOVA, Pa. - Seventeen national television appearances highlight the 2012-13 Villanova men's basketball schedule announced today.

The Wildcats open the campaign by hosting first and second round games of the 2K Sports Classic benefiting Wounded Warrior Project on Friday, Nov. 9 against UDC and Marshall on Sunday, Nov. 11. Villanova will then travel north to New York's Madison Square Garden for the final two rounds of that event on Thursday, Nov. 15, when it faces Purdue in the first of its nationally televised appearances (ESPN2). The `Cats then will meet either Alabama or Oregon State on Friday, Nov. 16, also at Madison Square Garden (ESPN2 or ESPNU).

The BIG EAST portion of the schedule begins on Jan. 2 when St. John's visits the Wildcats in a game to be broadcast nationally on ESPNU. Other January highlights include visits from Pittsburgh (Jan. 16), Louisville (Jan. 22), and Syracuse (Jan. 26). VU will also face road tests in January at 2012 NCAA Tournament participants USF (Jan. 9), Syracuse (Jan. 12), and Notre Dame (Jan. 30).

On tap in February are home dates with Providence (Feb. 3), USF (Feb. 9), Rutgers (Feb. 18) and Marquette (Feb. 23). The final regular season home game is set for Wednesday, March 6, when Georgetown will be the opponent. The Wildcats will also face trips to DePaul (Feb. 3), Cincinnati (Feb. 12), Connecticut (Feb. 16), Seton Hall (Feb. 25) and Pittsburgh (Mar. 3) down the home stretch of the regular season.

Four Philadelphia Big Five contests are a part of the non-conference portion of the slate. The Wildcats will be at La Salle on Sunday, Nov. 25 and Penn on Saturday, Dec. 8. Villanova hosts Temple on Dec. 5 and Saint Joseph's on Dec. 11. In addition, the `Cats will be part of the 2012 SEC/BIG EAST Challenge on Dec. 1 when they face Vanderbilt in Nashville on ESPN2.

Today's schedule release includes game dates along with some television information and game times. The Wildcats will again host games on campus at the Pavilion and at the Wells Fargo Center but the specific home sites for individual games have yet to be announced. Regional television information and additional start times will also be released in the coming weeks.

2012-13 Villanova Schedule

Thursday, Nov. 1 vs. Carleton University (exhibition)

Friday, Nov. 9 vs. UDC (2K Sports Classic)

Sunday, Nov. 11 vs. Marshall (2K Sports Classic)

Thursday, Nov. 15 vs. Purdue at Madison Square Garden (ESPN2)

Friday, Nov. 16 vs. Alabama or Oregon State at MSG (ESPNU or ESPN2)

Tuesday, Nov. 20 vs. Columbia

Sunday, Nov. 25 at La Salle

Saturday, Dec. 1 at Vanderbilt (SEC/BIG EAST Challenge - ESPN2)

Wednesday, Dec. 5 vs. Temple (ESPN2)

Saturday, Dec. 8 at Penn

Tuesday, Dec. 11 vs. Saint Joseph's (ESPNU)

Sunday, Dec. 16 vs. Delaware (ESPNU)

Saturday, Dec. 22 at Monmouth

Friday, Dec. 28 vs. NJIT

Wednesday, Jan. 2 vs. St. John's (ESNPU)

Wednesday, Jan. 9 at USF

Saturday, Jan. 12 at Syracuse

Wednesday, Jan. 16 vs. Pittsburgh (ESPNU)

Saturday, Jan. 19 at Providence

Tuesday, Jan. 22 vs. Louisville

Saturday, Jan. 26 vs. Syracuse (ESPNU)

Wednesday, Jan. 30 at Notre Dame (ESPN2)

Sunday, Feb. 3 vs. Providence

Tuesday, Feb. 5 at DePaul (ESPN2)

Saturday, Feb. 9 vs. USF (ESPNU)

Tuesday, Feb. 12 at Cincinnati

Saturday, Feb. 16 at Connecticut (ESPN or ESPN2)

Monday, Feb. 18 vs. Rutgers (ESPNU)

Saturday, Feb. 23 vs. Marquette (ESPN or ESPN2)

Monday, Feb. 25 at Seton Hall (ESPNU)

Sunday, March 3 at Pittsburgh

Wednesday, March 6 vs. Georgetown (ESPN or ESPN2)


 

 

Follow us!

Instagram

Photo Galleries