Basketball - Home
Reynolds Headlines Villanova Basketball Award Winners
Reggie Redding and Scottie Reynolds are co-winners of VU's Most Outstanding Player award
Reggie Redding and Scottie Reynolds are co-winners of VU's Most Outstanding Player award

April 29, 2010

VILLANOVA, Pa. - Senior guard Scottie Reynolds, the Herndon, Va., native who completed his college career as a consensus first-team All-American and finished second on Villanova's all-time scoring list (2,222 points), headlines the list of award winners to be recognized at the annual Men's Basketball Banquet, which is set for April 29 at the Pavilion and will be video streamed on Nova Nation All-Access at

Reynolds, who was also selected as a first team All-BIG EAST selection and the Philadelphia Big Five's Most Outstanding Player, is the recipient of the Villanova Basketball Award. This honor is given each year to the player who best exemplifies the characteristics of the Villanova Basketball Player and is considered to be the program's highest honor. Last year's recipients were Shane Clark and Dwayne Anderson.

In addition, Reynolds shares the award for Most Outstanding Player with classmate Reggie Redding, who started 23 games this season and provided important leadership for a Wildcat squad that earned the program's sixth consecutive NCAA Tournament bid.

Junior guard Corey Fisher of the Bronx, N.Y., is the winner of this year's Paul Arizin Award, which recognizes the Wildcat player who has improved most in the last year and honors the memory of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Famer who starred on the Main Line from 1947-50. Fisher was a third team All-Big East choice and first team selection of the Philadelphia Big Five.

Freshman Mouphtaou Yarou is the recipient of the Alexander Severance Award. This award honors the Villanova player whose dedication in the class room demonstrates a commitment to reaching his full potential. It is named in honor of Severance, who was head coach as well as a professor at Villanova from 1936-61.



The annual Jake Nevin Award, which honors the player whose selflessness provides an outstanding example to his teammates, will be presented to senior forward Russell Wooten of Chula Vista, Cal.

Other award winners recognized include student managers Kevin O'Connell (Christopher M. Dincuff Award) and Brianna Dugan (Teresa & Joseph J. Martini Endowed Scholarship in Honor of Randy Foye); Bill, Bob and Tom Melchionni (Alumni Appreciation);and Dr. Helen K. Lafferty (Nova Nation).

The 2009-10 Wildcats finished with a 25-8 record and were ranked in the top 10 of the Associated Press and ESPN/USA Today Coaches polls every week of the regular season.

    Facebook Twitter YouTube foursquare Instagram Mobile Photo Galleries Tickets GameTracker Video Audio