Skip to main content Skip to footer
Four Wildcats Honored by Philadelphia Big Five
JayVaughn Pinkston

April 15, 2013

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - Four Villanova Wildcats were honored today as the Philadelphia Big Five announced its 2012-13 post-season honorees.

Freshman guard Ryan Arcidiacono is the Big Five's Rookie of the Year and sophomore guard Darrun Hilliard was tabbed its Most Improved Player. Arcidiacono averaged 11.9 ppg while starting all 34 games while Hilliard averaged 11.4 ppg in his second season on the Main Line.

Sophomore forward JayVaughn Pinkston (13.3 ppg, 5.3 rpg) was named to the Philadelphia Big Five first team. Joining him on that squad are La Salle's Tyreek Duren and Ramon Galloway, Ronald Roberts of Saint Joseph's and Khalif Wyatt of Temple. Wyatt was selected as Big Five Player of the Year.

Arcidiacono was joined on the all-Philadelphia Big Five second team by Wildcat senior forward Mouphtaou Yarou (9.9 ppg, 7.8 rpg). Others named to the second unit include Langston Galloway and Carl Jones of Saint Joseph's and Rahlir Hollis-Jefferson of Temple. Tony DiLeo of Temple was tabbed Scholar Athlete of the Year and Miles Cartwright of Penn will be recognized as the top free throw shooter.

The Big Five banquet will be held on April 29 at the Palestra. Tickets for the event can be reserved by contacting Steve Crider at 814-935-5015 or via email