Skip to main content Skip to footer
Bell and Wright Honored by Philadelphia Big Five as Player, Coach of the Year
James Bell

March 25, 2014

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - Villanova standout senior James Bell and head coach Jay Wright along with Saint Joseph's DeAndre' Bembry were named the 2013-2014 Philadelphia Big 5 Player, Coach, and Rookie of the Year, respectively. They will be honored with other men's and women's award winners at the annual Big 5 banquet in the Palestra, Monday, April 14.

Joining Bell on the All-Big 5 first team are teammate JayVaughn Pinkston, La Salle's Tyreek Duren, and Langston Galloway and Halil Kanacevic of Saint Joseph's. The second team includes Dalton Pepper and Will Cummings of Temple, Ronald Roberts Jr. of Saint Joseph's, Darrun Hilliard and Ryan Arcidiacono of Villanova, and Jerrell Wright of La Salle.

Jay Wright guided the Wildcats to 28 regular season wins, the Big East regular season title and Big 5 championship via a perfect 4-0 record.

Galloway was the Big 5's leading scorer, averaging 17.7 points per game. Pepper was the top free throw shooter, making 87.1 percent of his attempts.

Bell also earned Most Improved Player accolades while Temple's Jimmy McDonnell was the Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Tickets for the Big 5 banquet on April 14 are $50 each and can be reserved by contacting Steve Crider at 814-935-5015 or


James Bell (Villanova) Tyreek Duren (La Salle) Langston Galloway (Saint Joseph's) Halil Kanacevic (Saint Joseph's) JayVaughn Pinkston (Villanova)




Ryan Arcidiacono (Villanova) Will Cummings (Temple) Darrun Hilliard (Villanova) Dalton Pepper (Temple) Ronald Roberts Jr. (Saint Joseph's) Jerrell Wright (La Salle)

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: James Bell (Villanova)

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DeAndre' Bembry (Saint Joseph's)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Jay Wright (Villanova)

TEAM CHAMPIONS: Villanova Wildcats

MOST IMPROVED PLAYER: James Bell (Villanova)

SCHOLAR ATHLETE: Jimmy McDonnell (Temple)

LEADING SCORER: Langston Galloway (Saint Joseph's)