Skip to main content Skip to footer
Five Wildcats Honored by BIG EAST
James Bell

March 9, 2014

NEW YORK - The Villanova Wildcats claimed the BIG EAST regular season title and five different team members are on the league's post-season honor roll.

Senior James Bell is a first team All-BIG EAST choice. Junior JayVaughn Pinkston is second team All-BIG EAST. Junior Darrun Hilliard and sophomore Ryan Arcidiacono are Honorable Mention all-league while freshman Josh Hart was named to the BIG EAST All-Rookie team.

Creighton forward Doug McDermott, Providence guard Bryce Cotton and Xavier guard Semaj Christon were named unanimously to the 2013-14 All-BIG EAST First Team, the league announced. The conference's head coaches choose the all-conference teams. The coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players. The league announced the All-BIG EAST First and Second Teams, Honorable Mention and the BIG EAST All-Rookie Team.

The BIG EAST Player of the Year will come from the All-BIG EAST First Team. The conference will announce Player of the Year, BIG EAST Coach of the Year, BIG EAST Rookie of the Year and the BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Wednesday, March 12. The announcement will be made on the first day of The BIG EAST Championship Presented by NEW YORK LIFE at Madison Square Garden at 4:30 p.m. ET. The other league individual awards will be announced Monday, March 10.

In addition to McDermott, Cotton and Christon, Markel Starks of Georgetown, D'Angelo Harrison of St. John's and James Bell of Villanova were named to the first team.



McDermott, a 6-8 senior, led the BIG EAST in scoring in all games (26.5) and in BIG EAST play (27.7). In the regular-season finale against Providence, McDermott scored a career-high 45 points and became the eighth player in college basketball history to surpass 3,000 career points. He shot 52.2 percent from the floor, 44.7 percent from 3-point range and 86.7 percent from the foul line and posted a 7.2 rebound average.

Cotton, a 6-1 senior, is the only repeat selection on the All-BIG EAST First Team. The Friar guard was second to McDermott in scoring in all games (21.7) and in league play (23.4). He became the BIG EAST assist champion with a 6.1 average in league contests. A Preseason All-BIG EAST First Team pick, he leads the nation in minutes played, averaging 40.1 minutes.

Christon helped Xavier to a No. 3 seed in The BIG EAST Tournament and a 20-11 overall record. The versatile 6-3 sophomore averaged 17.0 points, 4.1 assists and 1.4 steals. He was a 2013-14 Preseason All-BIG EAST selection.

Starks, a 6-2 senior, was Georgetown's backcourt leader. His 17.1 scoring average in all games ranks fourth in the BIG EAST. Like Xavier's Christon, Starks was a 2013-14 Preseason All-BIG EAST pick.

Harrison, a 6-4 junior, led a St. John's charge in the second half of the season that carried the Red Storm to a 10-8 BIG EAST record after an 0-5 start and a No. 5 seed at The BIG EAST Tournament. Harrison averaged 17.6 points, which ranks third in the conference.

Bell was a primary catalyst behind Villanova's first-place finish in the regular season. He averaged 14.9 points and 6.0 rebounds. The 6-6 senior helped the Wildcats, 28-3 overall and 16-2 in conference play, to the most regular-season wins and BIG EAST victories in school history.

The All-BIG EAST Second Team includes six members because of a tie in the voting. D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera of Georgetown was the highest scorer in the group, averaging 16.8 points, which is sixth in the BIG EAST.

Butler's Kellen Dunham was right behind Smith-Rivera, ranking seventh and scoring at 16.8 clip. Seton Hall's Fuquan Edwin was an all-around performer on the wing, averaging 14.7 points and a league-leading 2.8 steals. Marquette's Davante Gardner and Providence's Kadeem Batts were productive frontcourt performers. Gardner led the Golden Eagles with a 15.1 scoring average and a 6.1 rebounding mark. Batts averaged 12.6 points and a team-leading 7.7 rebounds for the Friars.

The BIG EAST Rookie of the Year will come from the BIG EAST All-Rookie Team. For rookie honors, the coaches included two players from DePaul, Billy Garrett, Jr., and Tommy Hamilton IV. Butler's Andrew Chrabascz, Marquette's Deonte Burton, St. John's Rysheed Jordan, and Villanova's Josh Hart made the squad.

Garrett, Jr. is the top rookie scorer in the BIG EAST with a 12.4 scoring average. Hamilton IV is the leading freshman rebounder with a 5.0 mark. Jordan, the Preseason BIG EAST Rookie of the Year, has averaged 9.4 points and 4.1 assists. Chrabascz and Burton saw their playing time increase as the season progressed. Chrabascz averaged 6.2 points and Burton averaged 6.4 points.


*Doug McDermott, Creighton, F, Sr., 6-8, 225, Ames, Iowa

Markel Starks, Georgetown, G, Sr., 6-2, 175, Accokeek, Md.

*Bryce Cotton, Providence, G, Sr., 6-1, 165, Tucson, Ariz.

D'Angelo Harrison, St. John's, G, Jr., 6-4, 204, Missouri City, Texas

James Bell, Villanova, G, Sr., 6-6, 220, Orlando, Fla.

*Semaj Christon, Xavier, G, So., 6-3, 190, Cincinnati, Ohio


Kellen Dunham, Butler, G, So., 6-6, 185, Pendleton, Ind.

D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera, Georgetown, G, So., 6-3, 218, Indianapolis, Ind.

Davante Gardner, Marquette, F, Sr., 6-8, 290, Suffolk, Va.

Kadeem Batts, Providence, F, Sr., 6-9, 245, Boston, Mass.

Fuquan Edwin, Seton Hall, F/G, Sr., 6-6, 215, Paterson, N.J.

JayVaughn Pinkston, Villanova, F, Jr., 6-7, 240, Brooklyn, N.Y.


Ethan Wragge, Creighton, F, Sr., 6-7, 225, Eden Prairie, Minn.

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova, G, So., 6-3, 195, Langhorne, Pa.

Darrun Hilliard, Villanova, G, Jr., 6-6, 215, Bethlehem, Pa.

Matt Stainbrook, Xavier, C, Jr., 6-10, 263, Bay Village, Ohio


Andrew Chrabascz, Butler, F, Fr., 6-7, 225, Portsmouth, R.I.

Billy Garrett, Jr., DePaul, G, Fr., 6-5, 194, Chicago, Ill.

Tommy Hamilton IV, DePaul, F, Fr., 6-10, 284, Chicago, Ill.

Deonte Burton, Marquette, F, Fr., 6-4, 230, Milwaukee, Wisc.

Rysheed Jordan, St. John's G, Fr., 6-4, 185, Philadelphia, Pa.

Jaren Sina, Seton Hall G, Fr., 6-2, 180, Lake Hopatcong, N.J.

Josh Hart, Villanova, G, Fr., 6-5, 202, Silver Springs, Md.

*Denotes unanimous selection.

^Due to a tie in the voting, an additional position was named.