Skip to main content Skip to footer
Baseball Team Set For Annual Intra Squad World Series
Oct. 23, 2017

VILLANOVA, Pa. - The team room in the Talley Athletic Center was the site of a highly-anticipated meeting on Monday afternoon, as the Wildcats gathered together to choose teams for the annual Intra Squad World Series. The three-game series takes place this week from Thursday through Saturday at the Villanova Ballpark at Plymouth. Each game begins at 3 p.m. and is open to the public.

After several weeks of hard work both on and off the field during fall ball, the Intra Squad World Series is an annual highlight for the baseball team and the unofficial conclusion of the team’s fall workouts. This is the second straight year that the World Series will be branded as Team Navy against Team Light Blue. Bragging rights are on the line for the team that wins two or three games in the series. Last year, assistant coach Eddie Brown led Team Light Blue to a three-game sweep.

Monday afternoon’s release of the rosters for Intra Squad World Series included the starting pitching matchups for the three games. Junior veteran right-hander Jonathan Rosero pitches for Team Light Blue in the opening game and will be opposed by sophomore righty Ryan Pfutzenreuter from Team Navy Blue. The second game will feature right-handed pitchers Conor McCarthy (Light Blue) and Jake Esp (Navy) squaring off, while freshman Jimmy Kingsbury (Light Blue) faces redshirt freshman Mike Schwartz (Navy) in the finale. Full team rosters can be seen below.



Villanova projects to return seven starting position players and nine of its top 11 pitchers based on innings pitched from last season. The schedule for the 2018 baseball season will be released in the coming weeks.

Team Navy vs. Team Light Blue
Thursday, October 26 – Saturday, October 28
3:00 PM Each Day
Villanova Ballpark at Plymouth


Position Players
Colin Bergh
Steve Brookwell
Lukas DeRenzi
John Heilenbach
Josh Kim
Timothy Lilly
Sam Margulis
Pat O’Neill
JP Radvany
Ryan Toohers

Ryan Pfutzenreuter (G1)
Jake Esp (G2)
Mike Schwartz (G3)
Zach Lutner
Jason Applegate


Position Players
Brandon Campos
Cole Channell
Juan De La Espriella
David Gulati
Kyle Kennan
Jeff Manto
David Rodgers
Chris Rotondo
Dominic Sarro

Jonathan Rosero (G1)
Conor McCarthy (G2)
Jimmy Kingsbury (G3)
Andrew Owen
Cameron Mathes