Baseball - Home
Baseball Team Announces Upcoming Schedule Changes
Villanova head coach Joe Godri announced several schedule changes on Monday evening.

 
Villanova head coach Joe Godri announced several schedule changes on Monday evening.
 

March 24, 2014

VILLANOVA, Pa. - A series of schedule changes for the baseball team was announced on Monday evening as Villanova and other local teams continue to deal with cold weather and a trickle-down effect of scheduling conflicts. The upcoming Liberty Bell Classic, a local tournament consisting of eight local teams, will now begin next week and the Wildcats will instead return to the diamond this Thursday afternoon against Penn to make up a previously postponed contest. Below is a rundown of this week's Villanova schedule as well as details on the Liberty Bell Classic slate.

Wildcats to Host Penn on Thursday and Wagner in Three-Game Series

Last week's rainout against the Quakers will be made up on Thursday afternoon at 3:15 p.m. in the first of four straight games for Villanova during the week. This is the first meeting of the season between the Wildcats and Penn, who split a pair of games last year. Villanova defeated the Quakers in the second round of the Liberty Bell Classic to earn a spot in the championship game.

Following the game against Penn on Thursday afternoon the Wildcats will get ready for their originally scheduled three-game series against Wagner which opens on Friday afternoon. Game times for the weekend are set for 3:15 p.m. on Friday as well as 1:15 p.m. on both Saturday and Sunday. The teams met once last season in a neutral site contest at North Carolina State, with the Seahawks prevailing with a 5-4, 10-inning victory.

Liberty Bell Classic Opens Next Week

Villanova hosts Saint Joseph's on Tuesday, April 1 in the first round of the Liberty Bell Classic. The winner advances to the second round on Tuesday, April 8 and will face the winner of next week's other first round game between Penn and Lafayette. If the Wildcats were to advance with a win over the Hawks, the second round game against Penn or Lafayette would be played on the road.

The other half of the Liberty Bell Classic bracket has Temple hosting Delaware and Lafayette taking on La Salle in the first round. The winners of next week's second round games will advance to the championship game, which will be played at Citizens Bank Park on Tuesday, April 22 at 7:30 p.m. Villanova reached the championship game last year and took on Delaware, while the Wildcats most recent title in the local tournament came in 2011. In all three rounds of the Liberty Bell Classic there is a potential Wednesday rain date should the originally scheduled contest be affected by weather.

 

 

If Villanova were to advance to the championship game of the Liberty Bell Classic, that contest would replace the originally scheduled April 22 contest versus La Salle. If neither the Wildcats of Explorers are in the championship game, this contest would be played at the Villanova Ballpark at Plymouth as scheduled (3:15 p.m. start).

Villanova Baseball Remaining Schedule

Thursday, March 27        Penn                  Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Friday, March 28          Wagner                Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Saturday, March 29        Wagner                Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       1:15 PM
Sunday, March 30          Wagner                Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       1:15 PM
Tuesday, April 1 (1)      Saint Joseph's        Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Wednesday, April 2        at Saint Joseph's     Merion Station, Pa.         3:00 PM
Friday, April 4           St. John's (*)        Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Saturday, April 5         St. John's (*)        Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       1:15 PM
Sunday, April 6           St. John's (*)        Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       1:15 PM
Tuesday, April 8 (2)      at Penn/Lafayette     TBA                         TBA
Friday, April 11          at Xavier (*)         Cincinnati, Ohio            3:00 PM
Saturday, April 12        at Xavier (*)         Cincinnati, Ohio            1:00 PM
Sunday, April 13          at Xavier (*)         Cincinnati, Ohio            12:00 PM
Tuesday, April 15         Saint Joseph's        Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Thursday, April 17        Creighton (*)         Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Friday, April 18          Creighton (*)         Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:30 PM
Saturday, April 19        Creighton (*)         Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       12:15 PM
Tuesday, April 22 (3)     TBA                   Philadelphia, Pa.           7:30 PM
Tuesday, April 22 (4)     La Salle              Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Friday, April 25          at Seton Hall (*)     South Orange, N.J.          6:00 PM
Saturday, April 26        at Seton Hall (*)     South Orange, N.J.          1:00 PM
Sunday, April 27          at Seton Hall (*)     South Orange, N.J.          1:00 PM
Tuesday, April 29         at Rutgers (*)        Piscataway, N.J.            3:30 PM
Wednesday, April 30       Temple                Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Friday, May 2             at Georgetown (*)     Bethesda, Md.               7:00 PM
Saturday, May 3           at Georgetown (*)     Bethesda, Md.               7:00 PM
Sunday, May 4             at Georgetown (*)     Bethesda, Md.               1:00 PM
Friday, May 9             Manhattan             Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       4:00 PM
Saturday, May 10          Manhattan             Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       1:15 PM
Sunday, May 11            Manhattan             Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       1:15 PM
Tuesday, May 13           Penn State            Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:45 PM
Thursday, May 15          Butler (*)            Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       3:15 PM
Friday, May 16            Butler (*)            Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       12:05 PM
Saturday, May 17          Butler (*)            Plymouth Meeting, Pa.       1:15 PM

SCHEDULE NOTES
(1) Liberty Bell Classic First Round
(2) Liberty Bell Classic Second Round
(3) Liberty Bell Classic Championship Game (Citizens Bank Park)
(4) Regularly scheduled game for 4/22
(will only be played if neither Villanova or La Salle advance to Liberty Bell Classic title game)

Facebook Twitter YouTube foursquare Instagram Mobile Photo Galleries Tickets GameTracker Video Audio