Below is a listing of the major national awards and other academic recognition that Villanova student-athletes have won over the years.


Rhodes Scholars

2013 Jessica Wamala Women's Basketball
1994 Becky Spies Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
1992 Nnenna Lynch Women's Cross Country/Track & Field


Fulbright Scholars

2014 Samuel Ellison Men's Track & Field


Truman Scholarship

2012 Jessica Wamala Women's Basketball


NCAA Woman of the Year

The NCAA Woman of the Year Award is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate female student-athlete.

1992-93 Nnenna Lynch Women's Cross Country/Track & Field


The Margaret Wade Trophy

The Margaret Wade Trophy is presented each year to the nation's top collegiate women's basketball player.

1986-87 Shelly Pennefather


ECAC Award of Valor

1991 Jennifer Peacock Field Hockey
1990 Jeremy Worrell Football


NCAA Post-Graduate Scholarship Winners

Year Name Sport
2010 Nicole Schappert Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
2007 Lauren Campanelli Field Hockey
2004 Ryan Costella Men's Swimming & Diving
1999 Liz Lauwaert Women's Swimming & Diving
1995 David Herr Baseball
1995 Becky Spies Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
1994 Lisa Flood Women's Swimming & Diving
1993 Nnenna Lynch Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
1991 Carol Haux Women's Track & Field
1989 Rich Spugnardi Football
1988 David Echeverria Men's Swimming & Diving
1983 John Pinone Men's Basketball
1983 Carlton Young Men's Track & Field
1980 Donald Paige Men's Track & Field
1978 Glenn Bogue Men's Track & Field
1977 David Graziano Football
1972 Thomas Aretz Men's Swimming & Diving
1972 Marty Liquori Men's Cross Country/Track & Field
1970 Andrew O'Reilly Men's Cross Country/Track & Field


NCAA Elite 88 Award

The NCAA Elite 88 Award is presented annually to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average at each of the NCAA Championship events. The award was first presented during the 2009-10 championship seasons and is awarded at the site of the NCAA finals in each of the 88 NCAA sponsored national championships in all divisions.

Year Name Sport Major GPA
2009 Will Thompson FCS Football Accounting 3.92


NCAA Top Eight Award

The NCAA Top Eight Award is presented at the end of each academic year to the top eight collegiate student-athletes, as chosen by the NCAA. The award was formerly known as the NCAA Top Six Award until 1994.

Year Name Sport
1993-94 Lisa Flood Women's Swimming & Diving
1992-93 Nnenna Lyncy Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
1988-89 Vicki Huber Women's Cross Country/Track & Field


USILA Men's Lacrosse Scholar All-America Team

2014 John LoCascio
2012 Matt Bell


NSCAA Women's Soccer Academic All-American

2008 Erin Hardiman Third Team


NSCAA Women's Soccer Academic All-Region

2008 Erin Hardiman First Team
2008 Molly Williams Third Team


Intercollegiate Tennis Coaches Association/Volvo Academic All-Star Team

1990-91 Kerry Armen
1989-90 Jeanne O'Connor
1989-90 Taylor Teresi
1988-89 Jeanne O'Connor
1988-89 Laura Smelas
1988-89 Taylor Teresi
1987-88 Mary Beth Lennon
1987-88 Laura Smelas
Facebook Twitter YouTube foursquare Instagram Mobile Photo Galleries Tickets GameTracker Video Audio