Skip to main content Skip to footer
Villanova Statement on the New Big East Conference

March 12, 2013

The Presidents of the Big East Conference this morning formally approved an agreement that will allow the seven basketball schools - DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John's and Villanova - to establish a new conference that will begin play in the 2013-14 academic year under the "Big East" name.

The seven basketball schools, which include many of the original founding schools of the Big East, have unanimously established the goal of continuing the storied legacy and time-honored traditions of athletic competition so closely associated with the Big East, including being the home of the very best college basketball in the nation.

Details about the expected broadcast media deal, season-ending tournament and additional members of the new conference will be announced in the near future.

Villanova Director of Athletics Vince Nicastro:
"Today's agreement is another important step forward as we work with our partners to chart a new direction for our conference. The Big East brand has symbolized excellence across the athletics spectrum for more than three decades and we are excited about the opportunity to build upon this rich heritage. The commitment to nationally prominent athletics programs has been a signature of Villanova's tenure in the Big East Conference and will continue to be in the years ahead."

Villanova Men's Basketball Head Coach Jay Wright:
"As someone who grew up in the Big East, I am thrilled that Villanova will continue to be part of a conference that built its reputation on basketball excellence. Villanova's identity is intertwined with the Big East, which has one of the great traditions in college basketball. We're excited to hold on to a part of our past and energized about the chance to build something new with programs that share our passion for college basketball."